TSWWT — AFTERWORD:

THOSE STEPS WE WALKED TOGETHER


[About the background of the story]

I have studied in Paris for four years, and it has been more than four years since I returned to China. Many details in my memory are no longer clear, but the strange feelings brought to me by the them have always been there. However, the memory of many places I visited is not clear anymore. If the description in the text is different from the reality in Paris, you should treat it as an artistic re-creation, and you don’t have to be more real.

    The art school in the article is based on the one I attended.

    In a small school, there are not many classrooms. Each class is in a different classroom. Even the toilets are shared by men and women. This is actually nothing if you are used to it. Even French boys rarely use such public toilets. The urinal, everyone closed the compartment door, there will be no embarrassment.

    I can also clearly recall the scene of gathering together in a small restaurant at noon to heat up rice in a microwave oven, and waiting for coffee in front of the very inefficient coffee machine.

    I have forgotten how many steps the steps outside the school gate are. It is about five steps. Every time between classes, a group of students gather outside the door to chat, drink a cup of coffee and smoke a cigarette.

    About the week challenge.

    In fact, we call it “workshop”, but I am not used to foreign words in the text, so I changed it to “week challenge”.

    Dividing the class, match them randomly, and complete a story creation in a week. A graphic research report, a complete storyboard, and three paintings that require a high degree of completion. The workload is really not small. In fact, it took us two days to determine the story. The rest of the time was painting. It’s only draw and draw…

    Of course, the story is boring like this, so let them research a few more days and find more places to cultivate feelings! You know!

    The theme of “stairs” was also the one I picked up that year, but the French children actually have their own persistence, so in the end, the few stories I thought were torn down and rubbed together with theirs. In the end, I myself Can’t recognize it anymore. But in fact, the final result is still good.

    In addition to this kind of teamwork, there is a person in each group who does nothing but comments, and there is always a person who has to worry about everything.

    Unfortunately, I am the latter.

    [About the characters]

    Hugo.

    At that time, our class really had a big boy with a face full of feminism, but he was neither girlish nor non-mainstream, but with a very clean temperament. He wears a ball head all the year round, and likes to wear loose models, such as low-crotch harem pants with a Moroccan style, but his tall and thin body will never make him look sloppy.

    In short, he is a strange and refreshing person who can really combine cleanliness and exoticism in a seamless way.

    I didn’t even change his name. Anyway, in France, there are a lot of people named “Hugo”.

    Cheng Kesong.

    I gave him the name of the croissant a little as a jokeβ€”that’s the kind of French Croissant. This idea originated from an ultra-short comic strip that I drew when I was bored studying in France. The plot is very thunderous, and children who are not afraid of thunder can search for it if they are interested.

    The comic’s name is 》 “Good Morning, Praise!” γ€‹

    In my design, Cheng Kesong is a typical introverted boy. In fact, it is a bit like the state I was in when I was studying abroad.

    It’s not completely introverted. If you talk to him, he can talk very well, and even make jokes. He can express his views and opinions well in project cooperation, but his emotional expression will definitely not be as direct and exaggerated as the French children.

    The expression of the French is really exaggerated!

    And they really are going to sing and dance face-to-face if they don’t agree with each other! Singing a few words of opera or popular anime songs is also a trivial thing!

    At least there are a lot of classmates around me who are so free, I don’t know if it is related to art.

    And I put the fascinating self-confidence of the French children in Hugo. For example, when you praise them, if they think it makes sense, they will indeed proudly admit that you are right!

    Very cute.

    These two protagonists, one is more ostentatious and the other is more restrained, but they are not extreme. It can be said that they are all normal people.

    I didn’t set their attack and accept, I leave it to everyone to reverie!

    [Some sections]

    Many sections in the article are my personal experiences when I was studying abroad in Paris.

    For example, being knocked down by a huge suitcase flying from the sky on the subway steps. Without Hugo’s support, I fell directly under a series of steps, and the scene was very bloody. And that aunt hasn’t compensated me for medical expenses!

    For example, Cheng Kesong mentioned that he went to IKEA to buy a lot of things and the subway elevator was overhauled. I was a fragile young man (at least at the time). I carried a dozen kilograms of packing boxes by myself. I dumped two buses, one subway and one tram. When I climbed home, I felt my bones would fall apart. NS!     For example, I have both painted the Louvre and the Opera House. Of course not during the workshop, but during outdoor sketching. Many attractions in Paris are free for students, which is very good. There are so many museums here. I like it.     For example, the rose-flavored ice cream ball that makes me miss!     I have been returning to China for several years now, and I still remember the taste! It’s a pity that the store is not like the one written in the article. It offers rose ice cream every early summer, and they only do it once. When I asked the next year, the waiter told me that it would stop making it because of the high cost. I was very disappointed. 

    


LEMON : AND THAT’S A WRAP TO THE STORY, I HAD FUN TRANSLATING THE STORY, HOPE YOU HAD FUN READING IT.

MY FIRST NOVEL TRANSLATION IS NOW COMPLETE. THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH FOR READING IT. IF YOU HAVE ANY ORPHAN NOVELS OR UNTRANSLATED NOVEL, PLEASE COMMENT .

Published by Lemon

Machine translations by lemon , a student who is a fanatic of danmei novels

3 thoughts on “TSWWT — AFTERWORD:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started